Fixed on GIT Capitalize API option niggle

Paul59

Active Member
CX Code Contributor
Joined
Dec 13, 2018
Location
UK
Not being used to capitalized keywords, I though this option was pretty handy until I worked out why it was causing my program not to build. I'd added a keypress option to ExitApp() and imported brl.process as required but of course it became brl.Process :( Changing it to lower case 'p' doesn't help because as soon as I use the cursor keys to move up or down a line it gets recapitalized. Kind of makes capitalize API option redundant unless it can be set to work only after space/return/parenthesis is typed?
 

Holzchopf

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 31, 2017
Location
Bern, Switzerland
What IDE do you use? TED? I can't reproduce that behavior in TED. I use Mollusk and haven't had capitalization issues for a while now. But if I remember correctly, restarting the IDE or rebuilding the help files and restarting solved the problem...
 

Paul59

Active Member
CX Code Contributor
Joined
Dec 13, 2018
Location
UK
It's Ted V2018-08-10, I downloaded CX yesterday.

EDIT: I'm on Linux Mint - relevant?
 

Holzchopf

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 31, 2017
Location
Bern, Switzerland
Hmm yes I guess this might be relevant. I'm not sure tho, maybe Mike knows more about TED and could help. As far as I know, capitalization and highlighting is done based on the files decls.txt and index.txt located in docs/html in your Cerberus X home directory. Can you upload those two files here so I can take a look and see if they differ from the ones I've got here? Maybe this will give us a clue.
 

MikeHart

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 19, 2017
Location
Germany
Not being used to capitalized keywords, I though this option was pretty handy until I worked out why it was causing my program not to build. I'd added a keypress option to ExitApp() and imported brl.process as required but of course it became brl.Process :( Changing it to lower case 'p' doesn't help because as soon as I use the cursor keys to move up or down a line it gets recapitalized. Kind of makes capitalize API option redundant unless it can be set to work only after space/return/parenthesis is typed?
You should be able to work around this behaviour by using the mouse to reposition the cursor after you corrected it. The auto capitalization is triggers by key input I think.

It is a problem with the inconsistant capitalization of the whole CX api. Also when an API call has the same name like a module as you have experienced in this case. You will find this in various modules sadly. It could be fixed but then it would break a lot of code from the past. Maybe a change request for CX2 ?!?
 

Paul59

Active Member
CX Code Contributor
Joined
Dec 13, 2018
Location
UK
I see, seems like I'll have to learn by trial and error!
 

Paul59

Active Member
CX Code Contributor
Joined
Dec 13, 2018
Location
UK
I suppose this confusing syntax highlighting is part of the same problem (taken from the 'directlight' mojo 2 example):
canvas.png


I've spotted various bits of superfluous code in some of the examples I've looked at - would you like me to edit any I find and submit them to you for future versions of CX?
 

MikeHart

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 19, 2017
Location
Germany
Only in the examples please. Ted should react accordingly, means if there are several versions of the keyword, it should not change it if there is a match.
 

Holzchopf

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 31, 2017
Location
Bern, Switzerland
I've examined the decls.txt and index.txt you posted. They look fine. Also, I can't reproduce the behaviour you're experiencing with those files =/ thus, I can't help you here, I'm out. Sorry
 
Top Bottom