Googleplay 64bit requirement

magic

Active Member
3rd Party Module Dev
3rd Party Tool Dev
Joined
Mar 5, 2018
I got email from googleplay. don't really know what this means
Hello Google Play Developer,
In our latest blog post, we detailed the requirement that apps using native code must provide a 64-bit version in addition to the 32-bit version by August 1, 2019.
 

Holzchopf

Moderator
3rd Party Module Dev
Joined
Jul 31, 2017
Location
Bern, Switzerland
Got the same e-Mail. It's about delivering 32-bit apps to 64-bit devices (delivering also means "will show up in the play store when browsing it from a 64-bit device"). They also write
If you haven't yet, we encourage you to begin work for the 64-bit requirement as soon as possible. Many apps are written entirely in non-native code (e.g. the Java programming language or Kotlin) and will not need code changes.
So I think you don't have to step into action for your CX written Android games, as also explained in the holy bible of coding knowledge
 

MikeHart

Administrator
Joined
Jun 19, 2017
Location
Germany
Got the same e-Mail. It's about delivering 32-bit apps to 64-bit devices (delivering also means "will show up in the play store when browsing it from a 64-bit device"). They also write

So I think you don't have to step into action for your CX written Android games, as also explained in the holy bible of coding knowledge
Lol, so it is one good thing that we still not have a NDK target.
 

hsretrogames

New Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Location
USA
Hi, I know this is an old subject to dig up as I haven't been doing any Android dev in almost two years . I am in the process to finally update my apps (and maybe make some new games down the road) with the 64-bit requirements and seem to be failing.
If someone can point me in the right direction on how to fix this that would be great. Do I need to update some native code somewhere or install a newer jdk or something? Not sure...
 

MikeHart

Administrator
Joined
Jun 19, 2017
Location
Germany
Is that with the lasted version of CX? Did you update Android Studio? I added 64 bit native libs to the Android build, so that shouldn't give you a problem. What error did you get?
 

hsretrogames

New Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Location
USA
@MikeHart, yes I am using CX 2020-05-09b so I figured any native code should be updated/implemented.

I recently had to reinstall android studio and it went through updates automatically. Unless there's some thing I need to update manually?
 
Last edited:

MikeHart

Administrator
Joined
Jun 19, 2017
Location
Germany
Ok, I will try to upload a build myself. I know that @garret has just released hier Karrierplaner app and I think that he used the latest version. Maybe he can confirm that.
 

hsretrogames

New Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Location
USA
@MikeHart , I got it to take eventually. I was trying to reuse my folder from the 2018 version of CX so I could use my release keys. Turns out I have to start with a fresh build, i just had a problem with my releasekey.keystore file at first. But figured that out as well - I had to put it in two different folders. Thanks for your help and time.

Also, I was wondering if any one knows of the 'android app bundle' google play is trying to push and gives you a warning if your not using it when you submit your app?
 

SLotman

Active Member
3rd Party Module Dev
Joined
Jul 3, 2017
Oh, just great. Now Google will phase out APKs?

Which means I'm royally screwed, since I'm still using the old Monkey and the apache ant to build my stuff.

What's next? Will Windows just stop using the .EXE format?
 
Top Bottom