Playing with 3D on Cerberus-X

JaviCervera

Member
3rd Party Module Dev
Joined
Jul 12, 2017
Ahhh yes, I put a comment on the top of the file. The tools use some dialogs, like a color dialog, that require to link against ole32 library. He are the instructions:

Code:
'NOTE: To build on Win32 GCC, you need to go to the Makefile (i.e. glfw3/gcc_winnt/Makefile)
'and add -lole32 to the LDLIBS property
For the final release, I will provide binaries of the tools so you won't have to build them yourself.
 

MikeHart

Administrator
Joined
Jun 19, 2017
Location
Germany
The funny thing is. I am on 64bit windows7. I use the mingw version that we recomment here. CX compiles all its own stuff fine.
 

Martin

Administrator
Joined
Jun 19, 2017
Location
Germany
I just tried and could build on a different computer without issues. But I had to add the tdm-gcc-64\bin path to the system pathes so the build_tools.bat can find g++.

Those irrlicht refence errors look strange.
 

JaviCervera

Member
3rd Party Module Dev
Joined
Jul 12, 2017
I have uploaded a new version which adds simple collision detection (entities can use sphere or box-shaped collisions). There is a new demo to see how it's used! (see test_collisions.cxs).

@MikeHart I don't have a computer with Win64 here (I am on a Mac right now), but I will build the tools and upload a binary so you can play with them as soon as I can if you still have problems building them.
 
Last edited:

Ferret3D

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2017
Please keep working on this!

Great work, i love the Blitz like commands.
Will definitely play with this.
 

JaviCervera

Member
3rd Party Module Dev
Joined
Jul 12, 2017
Last edited:

Martin

Administrator
Joined
Jun 19, 2017
Location
Germany
Javi, thanks again from my side as well. Will probably use it as well and show (at some point) something here in the showcase as well. :)
 

MikeHart

Administrator
Joined
Jun 19, 2017
Location
Germany

Martin

Administrator
Joined
Jun 19, 2017
Location
Germany
Just a question. Can I use mojo in a way that I have several 2d only screens but use 3d on some where I need it?

Take as example a submarine game where you have different stations (like sonar) which are basically plain 2d screens, but for periscope I'd need some 3d.
 

JaviCervera

Member
3rd Party Module Dev
Joined
Jul 12, 2017
Hi again, guys. Thank you all for your kind comments.

@MikeHart I would love to see your game ported. If you need any help, please let me know.

@Martin I don't think it would work right now, but Mojo integration is next on my list. It should be a matter of resetting the OpenGL states to what Mojo expects after performing rendering, so you can render with Mojo afterwards. I'll try to have something working next week.
 

Martin

Administrator
Joined
Jun 19, 2017
Location
Germany
Thanks! That would be awesome, would be one of the things I miss most atm. Would you use mojo or mojo2? Or would it work with both? :)
 

JaviCervera

Member
3rd Party Module Dev
Joined
Jul 12, 2017
@Martin I think Mojo1 uses a GLES1 context on Desktop & mobile, and a canvas with no GL on Web? I'm not sure, should check it back, but I remember something like that when I used it a while ago. Mojo2, on the other hand, is GLES2, just like Vortex2, so that's what I'll try to integrate. I have put it next on my todo list.

@MikeHart No, and it would be handy, so as soon as I have some spare time, I will modify it just so you'll be able to reset the view by pressing the R key.

Actually, with both of these changes, I should probably promote the code to the master branch and tag it as 2.0-beta.
 

JaviCervera

Member
3rd Party Module Dev
Joined
Jul 12, 2017
I have pushed a new version to the repository. It contains the changes I talked about in my previous post.

@Martin To see how to integrate Mojo2 with Vortex, check the test_mojo2.cxs file. It renders Mojo's direct lighting demo into a Vortex texture, then renders a 3D quad on the screen with that texture, and finally renders some text with Mojo on top of that.

@MikeHart Now you can press R on meshtool to reset the camera.

Probably today I will promote the changes to the master branch, so Vortex2 will be the official version, and will prepare binary releases and tag it "2.0-beta".
 
Top Bottom